Winter Squash Recipes: Stuffed Acorn Squash


Welcome to the second installment of winter squash recipes! In case you hadn’t the chance to read last week’s article, I featured spaghetti squash and its excellent using as a substitute for spaghetti.  This post however is all around the acorn squash.  Ever tried cooking one of these?  Me either, that is until earlier this week.  I came across a recipe for Sausage and Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash in Fitness magazine and realized I had all of the ingredients except the acorn squash.  As a squash lover this piqued my interest as I had never tried it before and was curious how it would taste.  So this past weekend I went back to my local grocery store and purchased one.  For any of you who have not seen an acorn squash before it looks like a mini pumpkin except it’s generally green in color.  I did see a few organic acorn squash which were a golden color similar to spaghetti squash but shaped different.

Below are all the ingredients you need to create the dish.  I will tell you I am a sucker for smoked gouda.  In fact it competes for the top spot of my cheese list with white cheddar for being my favorite.  If you like that rich, smoky flavor too here’s a great healthy recipe incorporating just enough to wrap up the flavor of this majorly tasty dinner without sabotaging a days worth of calories:

Ingredients Needed – acorn squash (1-2), low sodium chicken broth, quinoa, sesame or olive oil, ground turkey/fresh turkey or chicken sausage, cumin, red bell pepper, coarse salt, garlic, red onion, ground ginger, and some shredded gouda (smoked is my preference).

Have all these?  Click here for the recipe.  Below is what mine turned out like:

healthy recipe

stuffed acorn squash

Share your thoughts...