Diet advice flipped upside down


diet advice ecard

Over the years doctors, nutritionists, fitness professionals, and health advocates have backed a ton of really contradictory advice for what the golden ticket to weight loss is.  I’m sure two weeks from today there will be some other new finding discrediting something we thought was good to do only to have that re-credited one year later.  Think of the studies on caffeine.  It’s bad for you, it’s good for you, we don’t know what the effects are!  So darn confusing!

So what’s on this ground shattering list that made me want to pull my hair out in frustration?  Here’s a few of the highlights that were privy to make Shape’s Top 10:

Here’s a rundown of 5 out of the 10 diet rules that made the list:

1.  Skip breakfast if you want –  Non-morning people rejoice!  Just because you don’t have time to eat breakfast in the morning, don’t feel like it or simply just didn’t wake up in time you are not missing a thing!  Just make sure you don’t overeat later in the day because of it

2. It’s okay to eat a big dinner – I LOVE this one because that’s my daily routine.  I am conservatively healthy throughout the day and dinner is my bulk of my calories (granted I don’t over-indulge on fries and cheeseburgers) but nonetheless my calorie intake equals about the same as my breakfast and lunch combined.  Healthy objective?  Not necessarily but it fits within my daily calorie allotment and is most of the time nutritionally sound.

3. Snacking does not effect metabolism – This one I have a problem with to be blunt.  From what I’ve always heard and been taught eating throughout the day is way better in turns of turning up the metabolic fat burning dials.  This article however argues that you could eat more this way and it’s just as okay to eat a large breakfast/lunch to hold you over.

4.  Eat carbs to get lean –   Meaning no don’t go for a loaf of sugar filled generic wheat bread, but do feed your body the carbs it needs through better unprocessed foods with carbs.   You have to figure ridding your body of anything it needs to perform at it’s best (especially if active your body needs carbs!) will eventually take its toll.

5. Exercise on an empty stomach – Who wants to stuff a bagel in their mouth or drink a big sloshy protein shake and go to a plyometrics class, raise your hand!  Yea, that’s what I thought no one.  I am a big advocate of exercising in the morning on an empty stomach.  No I don’t pass out, no my bod doesn’t go into starvation mode.  I do feel however that it keeps me feeling lighter and moving faster.  Just my opinion though…

This weight loss advice article  pretty much confirmed as I had expected: the only thing for certain that guarantees losing or maintaining your weight is simple: don’t over eat!  Calories in, calories out –  like mathematics there is only one right answer this way.   Living by this simplistic approach rules out all the outliers and keeps you at least somewhat sane of mind.  Once you know your magic number that’s all you need.  How you figure out that number can be through a variety of factors as extreme as going through bloodwork and metabolic testing to using a daily fitness tracker or a “guesstimate” online tool.

How do these pieces of advice fit into what you already know or have heard about losing weight? Do you agree or does this make you angry?  Do you feel like you’ve been duped?  Let’s hear it!

Source:  Surprising Weight-Loss Tips and Diet Advice You Need to Know – Shape Magazine – http://www.shape.com/weight-loss/weight-loss-strategies/10-unbelievable-diet-rules-backed-science
Written by Kimberly Hale

Share your thoughts...

