5 Desserts You Wouldn’t Know Were Healthy


English: Peanut butter cookie with a chocolate...

 

Do you love dessert but not love the added extra layer it puts on even the skinniest of folks?  Fear not I have a solution for you.  As the queen of desserts and just overall too much sugar consumption being healthy for me is a challenge when it comes to any type of dessert.   So now officially one month away from wedding day my hopes of indulging in a double fudge brownie a la mode anytime soon will have to be pushed aside until wedding day is over…

In an attempt to cut corners on overly rich desserts I have tried many of the “lower” calorie treats on the market.  However I have found that even those lowered versions still have too  much sugar and processed garbage in them.  So in an attempt to be creative  I have come up with some fast healthier swaps that satisfied my sweet tooth, keep my bad sugar in check and make my middle smile.  Here’s 4 versions that top my list:

 

 

1. Key Lime Pie (185 calories, 12-14 grams of protein) –  Yoplait 100 calorie greek key lime pie yogurt, one crushed graham cracker, dollop of light cool whip.  Care to lighten it even more?  Adding half the serving of the graham cracker and half the serving of cool whip will drop this indulgence to 140 calories!

2. Graham crackers with peanut butter (220) – Energy with a crunch!  I like trader Joe’s old-fashioned graham crackers with a light spread of peanut butter on them. Use one like the new “whips” peanut butter and you’re looking at 120 calories for 2 graham crackers and 70 for 1 tbsp of peanut butter.

3. Fruit Chocolate Whip (65-75 calories) – Literally like it sounds, this includes 3-4 diced up strawberries, 1/4 cup of blueberries, and 1/4 chopped banana, 1/2 serving of light chocolate syrup, and a dollop of whip cream.  Literally just as tasty as if I had crumbled a shortcake or cook on top.

4.  Cinnamon Banana Surprise (200 calories) – 1 banana, either 1 tbsp peanut butter or 2 tbsp’s of Better Butter, and 1 tsp cinnamon.  Cut banana lengthwise so you have two long halves.  Lightly spread peanut butter on both sides and sprinkle with cinnamon.  For a different twist you can try using Trader Joe’s “Speculoos” Cookie Butter instead of the peanut butter or cinnamon.

So these are my favorites that leave me not feeling guilty after eating.  Perhaps you have some good concoctions you have come up with too?  I’d love to hear them.  Please share your favorites with us after all our waistlines will thank you!

 

2 thoughts on “5 Desserts You Wouldn’t Know Were Healthy

    • Thanks for the comment glad you like theireas. Yep I’m sure I’ll begin freaking out within the next few weeks too… Best of luck to you and congrats!

Share your thoughts...

