All You Need Is Inspiration And A Good Ass Kicking


Shocked by the title of this post?  I was too initially when it came out of my mouth this morning, but it made me laugh which in turn lightened my day a bit from the get go so maybe it will do the same for yours?  Couldn’t hurt right?  After all we are mid-week and still have a few more days to march on before the weekend.  But before I digress even further let’s move on…

I’m going to come clean with it and state the obvious: You know the value in exercise and if you don’t know or recognize that it has value you are simply ignoring the obvious or in denial.  Now the problem lies where you know how beneficial it is but you just don’t do it for whatever reasons…. kids, lack of time, laziness, just stuck in a slump what have you. I could sit here and bark at you the old unladylike mantra: excuses are like assholes everyone has one and they stink!  However something tells me this is not going to motivate you enough to change anything…  Well then why do I bring this up?  It’s personal, it’s personal because the man I love is one of the most stubborn mules I know when it comes to exercise.  Talk about opposites attracting I am close to the point of obsession with educating myself about health and exercise and he is closer to the remote, bag of doritos, and 64oz regular pop!

HOWEVER, that’s suddenly changed! Whether he got hit in the head, scared himself into motivation or had a dream I’ve had an exercise breakthrough with him.  (Little known fact we are getting married in September, so perhaps that was part of his motivation after seven years of no motivation).  Those who know him know this is fantastic.  In the seven years I’ve dated him he’s never lifted a bone in his body to exercise and healthy foods or nutrition counts was a trend he avoided like the plague.

But he did it! He got off his couch, dropped the remote and signed up for a gym.  Now rest assured he still has plenty couch and remote time but he has begun to make a change which is all you need.  He actually went grocery shopping with me and picked out healthy foods which I didn’t even think he knew the name of! When he comes home from the gym you can see a glow about him and how much better he feels after kicking his ass on the treadmill or with weights its elating! My house is now filled with men’s health articles and in fact this morning I saw by his keys a little note he had written himself on exercises to do while at the gym today.  I wanted to jump for joy!

I am trying my hardest not to sound too overexcited around him as I’m afraid it might cause him to stop doing what he’s doing but I simply cannot help it!  I am eager to see come September his results and will keep you posted.

So why is my personal story an inspiration for you?  Because each and every one of you knows someone like the above, whether it’s a friend, close family member, or even yourself.  There is unfortunately nothing you can do to motivate or force anyone to make the change (I tried that route over a few years trust me!) unless the person is yourself and if you’re reading this blog that’s the first step in the right direction – becoming informed.  Afterall, all it takes is some inspiration and a good ass kicking to make a difference.

Share your thoughts...

