Pumpkin Everything Recipe – Dairy Free


pumpkin everything recipe

Although its not fall yet I was in a baking mood this past weekend and decided to make something with pumpkin.  I had few ingredients so I thought I’d get creative and hope for the best.  From the recipe below I  went a little crazy and made cookies, bread, and muffins out of it so enjoy.  It’s quite low fat and has no dairy yet tasty at the same time, win win.

Pumpkin Favorites – Ingredients

I can of pure pumpkin

1 cup sugar

2  cups flour

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or all spice – I didn’t have any!)

1/8th tsp of salt

Dash of Wheat germ (optional)

*Optional additions:  walnuts, raisins, cranberries and/or chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients stirring until well blended.  *Here I added in walnuts

2. Separate the batch into two separate bowls

3.  In one bowl mix in raisins, the other chocolate chips and blend separately

4.  Pour into whatever container you see fit, or drop by the spoonful onto a cookie sheet for cookies

5.  If baking cookies do 450 degrees for 18-22 minutes

6. If baking bread do 450 degrees for 40-45 minutes (toothpick test)

Voila!  Hope you enjoy your creations as much as I enjoyed mine!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Everything Recipe – Dairy Free

    • It is! The best part is it contains no milk, eggs, oil or butter! Because pumpkin is so moist it just works. I’m guessing that this and maybe banana bread could be all you can pull off well without those major ingredients…

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one who likes seasonal food out-of-season. 🙂 Earlier this month I made myself a yule log. They’re yummy, why limit them to one month a year, right? 🙂

    • Absolutely! Especially when that one time of year goes by so quickly. Even though it was 90 degrees out the day I made these, they were still amazing.

Share your thoughts...

