Zesty Ceviche: Cool Off With Something Refreshing


There is always room for good Mexican food and since it’s summer the days are so hot that we want nothing more than something light yet refreshing.  Here’s my take on a great dish that’s practically guilt-free!

TIP: Most restaurants have ceviche in the appetizer section.  If you are looking for a sure way not to completely sabotage your diet at the restaurant swap for this

one and a Mojito or Margarita on the rocks.

Yum!  I have been craving Shrimp Ceviche for the last year since I was in Mexico.  I was sitting poolside with potent rays beating down on my skin and my stomach grumbling loudly in hunger desperately seeking something light and refreshing yet filling to eat.  It was then I stumbled on the best tasting Ceviche I have ever had… and probably ever will have.  I washed it down with a relaxing Mojito and kicked back to enjoy the beautiful view.

I tell you this story not to make you jealous but simply to share with you a version I created in time for the upcoming holiday to mimic the one I enjoyed in Mexico.  I hope you enjoy it and if you do let us know or send us your pictures or recipe deviations.  Knowledge is power so share the wealth!

Ceviche (serves 1-2)

1/2-1lb peeled, cooked shrimp

1 lemon

1 lime

1 Serrano pepper

1/2-1 Avocado

1/2-1 cucumber

Red onion

Cilantro

Salt

Pepper

Directions:

1. After cooking and washing your shrimp, peel off the tails and dice each shrimp 2-3 times

2. Toss in a container with lemon and lime (to your liking)

3. Cut open a Serrano pepper and remove the seeds.  Mince the pepper and mix in with the shrimp/juices

4.  Mix in diced cucumber, cilantro (to taste), red onion, and season with pepper

5. Add some salt/pepper and set in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes

When ready to eat:

1. Mix in avocado and squeeze additional lime/lemon

2. Grab a handful of tortilla chips and voila your done!

Extras:

In the picture I enclosed I added some washed sweet corn and black beans for fiber.  You can do this as well as it is tasty, but unnecessary.

One thought on “Zesty Ceviche: Cool Off With Something Refreshing

  1. Pingback: Cinco de Mayo Celebration Guilt Free | Honey Crunched

Share your thoughts...

